Election Day 2022 has arrived.

Texans headed to the polls today to decide a number of statewide races, including governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, comptroller and more.

Check out the latest updates below as election results roll in, and sign up for our weekly newsletter to receive the latest election news and analysis in your inbox on Wednesday morning.


The chief executive of the state of Texas. Gov. Greg Abbott is running for a third term, while challenger Beto O’Rourke is seeking to be the first Democratic Texas governor in decades. This race has been called for Greg Abbott by the Associated Press.

Lieutenant Governor

Presiding over the Texas Senate, the lieutenant governor’s office has been held by Dan Patrick since 2015. Democratic challenger Mike Collier is making his second run at the seat, this time bolstered by some high-profile GOP endorsements. This race has been called for Dan Patrick by the Associated Press.

Attorney General

Republican Ken Paxton has held the office of Texas’ chief litigator since 2015, bringing high-profile lawsuits against both presidents Obama and Biden and touting ties to former president Donald Trump in recent years. Rochelle Garza, a former ACLU lawyer from South Texas, seeks to unseat him. This race has been called for Ken Paxton by the Associated Press.


The comptroller oversees the state’s assets and tax collection. Republican Glenn Hegar is running for his third term. Democrat Janet Dudding, a certified public accountant, is seeking to oust him. This race has been called for Glenn Hegar by the Associated Press.

Land Commissioner

The land commissioner oversees millions of acres of land in Texas, as well as the administering of public school funds and disaster relief. The seat is open after outgoing commissioner George P. Bush entered the Republican primary for attorney general. Lakeway Republican state Sen. Dawn Buckingham and Democrat Jay Kleberg, of a prominent South Texas ranching family, are the frontrunners for the position. This race has been called for Dawn Buckingham by the Associated Press.

Agriculture Commissioner

The Texas agriculture commissioner oversees farming and ranching in the Lone Star State, as well as the promotion of rural health care and consumer protection. GOP incumbent Sid Miller is running for his third term, and Democrat Susan Hays is seeking to oust him. This race has been called for Sid Miller by the Associated Press.

Railroad Commissioner

One of the most “consequential climate-related offices in the country,” the Railroad Commission is a three-member state agency that regulates the oil and gas industry. Members are elected to six-year terms. GOP chairman Wayne Christian has held his seat since 2016. His frontrunner challenger is Democrat Luke Warford. This race has been called for Wayne Christian by the Associated Press.


In addition to governing bodies, several prominent statewide judicial positions are on the ballot this year.

Congressional races

More coverage

Visit our partners in The Texas Newsroom for coverage of local races in your area.